ASEAN-6 energy transition performance

  • FF2022-57: ASEAN-6 Energy Transition: Commitments, Outlook, and Performance

    With the global push for energy transition, the countries of Indonesia (ID), Malaysia (MY), the Philippines (PH), Singapore (SG), Thailand (TH), and Vietnam (VN), collectively known as the ASEAN-6 member states (AMS-6), among other signatories to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), submitted their commitments to reduce greenhouse gases (GHG) emission rates in certain sectors with corresponding timelines (Table 1). Targets were classified either as unconditional, referring to policies and measures which can be undertaken using nationally mobilized resources, or conditional which refer to those requiring support or the means of implementation under the Paris Agreement.